Musings of an Undercover Yogi

Jagannath Trilogy #1. The Divine Gift

Posted on: July 10, 2021

Artwork of Lord Jagannath

I met him on Facebook, bantering with a mutual friend in the comments section of a post. Their goofy exchanges in deliberately twisted, sometimes Hindified Bangla were hilarious. It wasn’t long before I started liking their comments. Gradually, I butted in their conversations, something I seldom do otherwise. Both of them welcomed my intrusions with open arms. At that point, exchanging friend requests with him felt like a mere formality. 🙂

This friend, the exceptionally talented Vinayak Kharat​​, is an artist, a musician, singer, writer, and I don’t know what other talents lie hidden in his treasure chest! 😛 One wouldn’t realize he’s a Maharashtrian if one read his exchanges with Bengali friends. I’m told of his proficiency in Bangla and remarkable understanding of the Bengali culture. 🙂

We bonded over posts, and a few exchanges later, our conversations moved to occasional chats in messenger. He lost his father last year, and his post announcing the same touched me deeply, making me reach out in person. From his post, I realized both our fathers shared similarities. I couldn’t stop myself from tagging him when I wrote a long memoir to celebrate my father’s 70th birthday last year. I cherish our few but meaningful conversations because I relate with him on various levels.

Earlier this week, while resting because of ill health, I was pleasantly surprised to see his ping, politely requesting my postal address as he wished to send me a ‘little something’ for Ratha Jatra. Lord Jagannath has been one of the common factors between us three friends. Though I’ve never worshipped Jagannath, been to Puri, or witnessed the gaiety during Rath Jatra. That hasn’t stopped the devotee in me from bowing down with equal devotion to all phenomenal beings, irrespective of religions and communities.

Perhaps that’s why Lord Jagannath found His way to our home today, having traveled from Mumbai snuggled in an envelope! Sharing Vinayak’s thoughtful and generous gift, his own digital creation, an exquisite artwork depicting the beautiful and intricate Jagannath peeking from behind the door as if playing Peekaboo. His playfulness is so evident in his posture! I saw this artwork a few days ago when Vinayak shared it with me virtually but holding it in my hands is an entirely different experience altogether! I can’t stop looking at the details. Those huge piercing eyes, the nose pin, the neckpiece, and that mischievous grin. From his silk attire to the ornamented door, there’s nothing to not love in the entire frame! ❤

The divine gift bundle

The artwork came wrapped in oodles of warmth in the form of his handwritten letter. I’ve always been a long-letters girl. Nothing delights me more than receiving a letter, which I haven’t in a long time. What a welcome break from being the one expected to write! For a change, I sat with my daughter reading his letter, smiling from ear to ear. Yatika has an interesting question, Vinayak. Quote Mumma, why has Uncle written Bijita ji? You guys are friends, right? I never call my friends ‘ji!’ unquote. 😃

My dear Vinayak, thanking you on messenger would’ve been such a shame! So here’s my ‘little something’ for you, my profound gratitude post. Cheers to our friendship and your talent! May you grow leaps and bounds. Stay healthy, stay safe, bondhu! 🙂

Leave a comment